Should you form your corporation in Alaska? We've collected the relevant information that will help you make this decision.
No individual or state income tax
Perfect for nature-loving, outdoor adventurers
Popular destination for summer tourism
Tax rate of 2-9.4%
Among "Worst States for Business" (Forbes 2016)
Cost of doing business
$250 filing fee / $100 annual report
Disclosure of directors required in annual report
Forming your corporation in Alaska
The name In order to communicate to the public that your new business is incorporated, its official name will need to end with one of the following signifiers (or a relevant abbreviation): “incorporated”, “Company”, or “corporation.” In addition, it is required that the name of your business is not intentionally misleading to consumers, for any reason. Your company’s new name must also be completely unique, and not deceptively similar to any other organizations name or trademarks. Do a FREE name search now.
Board of directors requirements You will need to form an official board of directors when incorporating in Alaska. Here are the states explicit regulations regarding these directors:
Required number of directors
Alaska corporations must have at least one director listed in their incorporation documents.
Directors of corporations located in Alaska can be of any age.
There are no residence restrictions imposed on the directors of C corporations in Alaska. However, S corporations are only allowed to have directors located in the United States.
What information needs to be included in the Articles of Incorporation?
Alaska does not require the names or addresses of directors to be disclosed in incorporation documents.
Requirements for the Articles of Incorporation
The Articles of Incorporation is a document that must be filed during the incorporation process in every state. Here is the information that must be included in this document when filing in Alaska:
Stock information Alaska requires the number of initial shares outstanding, and their par value, to be disclosed during the incorporation process. The number of outstanding shares does not affect initial state filing fees.
Officer information The state of Alaska does not require officer information to be disclosed during the filing process.
Registered agent information All Alaska corporations must have a registered agent on file, and submit their name and address (which cannot be a PO box). This agent will be required to be accessible during standard business hours, and act as the state’s point of contact with the company. Learn more about registered agents.
Additional Alaska filing requirements
Many states have steps in the incorporation process that are unique to that state. These can also vary at the municipality or county level as well. Here are the steps required throughout all of Alaska:
Initial report deadlines All corporations in Alaska must file an initial report within six months of incorporating.
If your business is a professional practice Professional service corporations are permitted to form under the professional corporation (PC) structure.
Corporate record keeping requirements
Corporations are required to keep formal documentation regarding several of their operations. These are the explicit record keeping formalities required by Alaska:
A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, bylaws, their amendments, and records of account
A list of all current shareholders
Meeting minutes for all shareholder and director meetings.
Alaska Corporate taxation and fee requirements
There are several tax and fee requirements that must be addressed by corporations in Alaska. They are as follows:
Taxation All states have complex taxation requirements. For more information regarding taxes in Alaska it is advised that you visit the state’s official business related website.
Annual report requirements Corporations in Alaska are required to file a bi-annual report every other year before January 2nd. This report must be first filed after year one, and if not filed by February 1st penalty fees can be applied. The cost of this filing is currently $100. Learn more about annual reports.
Tax identification numbers Alaska requires an EIN (employee identification number) for all corporations that will have employees, and most banks will require one to open accounts. Alaska does not require corporations to obtain state tax ID numbers. Learn more about EINs.
Business license requirements
The business licenses and permits required in Alaska vary wildly depending on the county or municipality in which your new corporation is located. If you would like to see more in-depth information on licenses and permits, please feel free to visit the content in our learning library that covers business licenses and permits.
S corporation election Alaska does not require a state-level S corp election, as they recognize any elections held at the federal level.
Need an Alaska LLC instead? Click here.
Looking for answers? You came to the right place. To learn more about our company mission and culture, click the link below.
You can form a corporation or LLC with our help for as little as $0, plus state filing fees for incorporation. Filing fees vary depending on the state you incorporate in. For more information on specific states, check out our state guides on the Swyft Resource Center. You can also email us with specific questions or contact us at 877-777-0450.
Swyft Filings accepts payment through Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal, checks, and money orders. You can send any questions about payment to our email address or contact us at 877-777-0450.
It depends on what you ordered. If all you did was file your corporation or LLC, the price you paid when ordering is all you pay. You will have no further fees after that.
However, if you signed up for the Swyft Filings Registered Agent Service, you will be charged its initial fee three days after you place your order. From then on, you will be charged according to the terms of your subscription until you change your registered agent with the state or dissolve your company. If you change your agent or dissolve your company on your own, let us know so we can discontinue billing.
Other potential subscription-based options include SnapMailbox, 360 Legal Forms, and ComplianceGuard. If you opt for SnapMailbox or 360 Legal Forms, you will be charged a monthly fee after their respective 30-day free trials end. ComplianceGuard has an annual fee after a 14-day free trial. All three of these services are completely optional.
Our team processes all Standard orders on a first come, first served basis. If you opt for Express or Same-Day Processing, we prioritize your order and send it to the front of the line. However, no matter how fast we get it out the door, you’ll still have to wait for your state to address your filing.
Each and every one of our customers is assigned a personal Business Specialist. You have their direct phone number and email. Have questions? Just call your personal Business Specialist. No need to wait in a pool of phone calls.
Trusted by over 250,000 businesses since 2015. Start your business with confidence. Affordable. Fast. Simple.